Record number of Academic Scholarships awarded

– News

Maintaining academic excellence is always demanding and is going to be a challenge after records have been broken in the past.  The current Year 8 pupils have responded with determination and achieved an outstanding set of results. All 34 boys have been placed at their chosen Senior Schools, with 16 gaining an award.  A record 20 academic scholarships have been gained with as well as 3 sports awards and 2 drama scholarships.


There was a 100% pass rate at Merchant Taylors’ with all 24 boys exceeding the required standard. Of the 20 academic awards available, St Martin’s boys were offered 8 of them. There was also 1 sports and 1 drama scholarship.

Six boys were offered places at Haberdashers’ Aske’s; five of those with academic scholarships.

There was a 100% pass rate at John Lyon, Aldenham, Mill Hill, St Albans and Berkhamsted Schools. Seven academic awards were gained at John Lyon, as well as 2 sports scholarships and 1 drama award.

Over the last 5 years, St Martin’s has gained 79 academic scholarships, 15 sports, 3 music, 3 drama, 2 art and a design technology awards. The all-round education and high academic standards at St Martin’s give the boys the ‘best start in life’. Quality teaching coupled with the boys’ desire to succeed have been key factors in these commendable results.

David Tidmarsh, Headmaster, said ‘The boys, staff and parents have every reason to be delighted with these superb achievements. The boys have surpassed themselves with a motivation to do their best helped by the excellent teaching and support they receive from the high quality staff. I am sure they will make a significant contribution to their chosen senior school when they move on later in the year.’


Merchant Taylors’

Major Scholarship: Ali Yaqoob (Andrew), Mir Sumaria (Morley)

Minor Scholarship: Aadam Hashmi, Rohan Hirani, Vishal Mistri, Aaron Nathwani, Adam Rashid, Aaditya Shivakumar

Sport: Keshav Samani

Drama: Rahul Shah


John Lyon

Academic Award: Zahid Abdur-Rahman, Laurence Cunningham, Aman Grewal, Imran Karawalli,  Asad Merali, Rahul Shah, Kai Waldron

Sports Award: Zahid Abdur-Rahman, Kai Waldron

Drama: Rahul Shah


Haberdashers’ Aske’s

Academic Scholarship: Aaditya Shivakumar, Keshav Samani,  Aadam Hashmi,  Rohan Hirani, Mir Sumaria


Return to news
Hide menu