Record results in the 13+ examinations

– News

This year’s candidates have surpassed all expectations and achieved an outstanding set of results. All 33 Year 8 boys have been placed at their chosen Senior Schools, with 17 gaining an award. Twenty scholarships have been achieved; 16 of these are academic awards.

The 33 boys sat for one or more schools and 20 places were gained at Merchant Taylors’ including six academic scholarships. Eight boys were offered places at Haberdashers’ Aske’s with four pupils awarded academic scholarships.

There was a 100% pass rate at John Lyon, Berkhamsted and Aldenham. Five academic awards were gained at John Lyon and one sports scholarship, whilst at Aldenham an academic and sports scholarship was achieved. In addition one boy has been awarded sports scholarships at both Whitgift and Harrow.

Over the last five years, St Martin’s has gained 75 academic scholarships, 13 sports, 3 music and 2 drama awards. A combination of hard work by the boys and dedication by the teachers have been the ingredients to this success.

The boys were delighted with their results as over 60% of their grades were at either A* or A. David Tidmarsh, Headmaster, said ‘The boys have responded to the academic competition for places with a desire to succeed. To their credit they have achieved an outstanding set of examinations grades, whilst enjoying the other important areas of music, drama and sport. St Martin’s prides itself on an all-round education and the 2015 Year 8 group will leave with a strong foundation for future success. They have achieved a great deal with the support, encouragement and commitment of a dedicated set of teachers.’


Merchant Taylors’

Major Scholarship: Vincent Mastin (Gilbert Murray), Manav Sharma;

Minor Scholarship: Imran Dewji, Henry Gadsdon, Manas Madan, Uzair Merchant

John Lyon

Academic Award: Imran Dewji, Niale Emmanuel, Ahilesh Jegeswaran, Vedant Gokakkar, Ammaar Merali

Sports Award: Timi Olayinka

Haberdashers’ Aske’s

Academic Scholarship: Arun Herai, Mansukhdeep Johal, Tayin Lakhani, Manas Madan


Academic Award: William Jordan

Sports Award: Tomilade Fajana


Outstanding Talent Award: Rishi Wijeratne (Cricket)


Sports Award: Rishi Wijeratne


Return to news
Hide menu