All boys successful in their Senior School entrance examinations

– News

The high standards of the previous years have been maintained as the smaller cohort of 27 Year 8 boys have all been placed at their respective Senior Schools, with almost half of the boys gaining an award. Of the 12 scholarships this year, eight are academic with six gained at Merchant Taylors’.

The 28 boys sat for one or more schools and 19 places were gained at Merchant Taylors’ with six academic scholarships and a sports scholarship. There was a 100% pass rate at Haberdashers’ Aske’s with all five boys offered with one academic scholarship.

The 100% pass rate continued at Berkhamsted and Aldenham with a drama scholarship at the former and a sports scholarship at the latter. At John Lyon all eleven boys were offered places with one academic and one sports scholarship.

St Martin’s continues to build on its strengths, confirmed by last year’s ISI inspection and it is placing all boys at prestigious, selective independent schools. To be awarded these scholarships is testimony to the hard work of the boys, supported by the professionalism and enthusiasm of the teachers.

The boys were delighted with their results as over half the grades were at either A* or A for the fourth year running. David Tidmarsh, Headmaster said ‘A committed and hard working year group have been rewarded by an outstanding set of results. The boys have managed to maintain their interests in music, drama and sport whilst aspiring to and achieve academic excellence. As rounded individuals, who are a credit to the School, they have achieved their success both in and out of the classroom supported by an excellent group of teachers. Once again this cohort will leave with the ‘best start in life”’.

Merchant Taylors’
Major Scholarship: Thomas Bailey (Lord Hailey), Daniel Maltz (Malyn);
Minor Scholarship: Oskar Ford, Thomas Nayrouz, Pranav Samani, Lakshman Samarakoon; Sports Karan Sofat

John Lyon
Academic Award: Soneel Bhattessa
Sports Award: James Olayinka

Haberdashers’ Aske’s
Academic Scholarship: Thomas Bailey

Sports Award: James Olayinka

Drama Award: Andreas Yerou

Return to news
Hide menu